Klondike Gold Rush National
Historical Park (Seattle Unit)
319 Second Avenue South
Seattle, WA 98104
WELCOME to Klondike Gold Rush
National Historical Park (Seattle Unit)
Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park is a
National Historical Park commemorating the Klondike Gold Rush of the
late 1890s. The gold rush was in the Yukon Territory, and this park
comprises staging areas for the trek there, and routes leading in its
direction. The park consists of four units: three in the Municipality
of Skagway Borough, Alaska and a fourth in the Pioneer Square National
Historic District in Seattle, Washington.
An integral part of the park is the Visitor's
Center in Seattle, Washington, in the Pioneer Square National Historic
District. It functions as an interpretive center and museum, and also
has information on how to visit the Skagway unit of the park. It
opened June 2, 1979, and was located in the Union Trust Annex (built
1902), across Main Street from Occidental Park.
The Seattle unit is now located in an 1889
building, the Cadillac Hotel at 319 Second Avenue South. The Cadillac
Hotel building was a major point of outfitting and departure during
the gold rush stampede. Severely damaged in the 2001 Nisqually
earthquake, it was rehabilitated 2004�2005 as home to the Seattle
Unit of the park, and was opened and dedicated 26 June 2006.
The visitor center in Seattle is located on the
northwest corner of Jackson Street and Second Avenue South. It is open
daily from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and
New Year's Day.
The Klondike Gold Rush National Historical Park
Visitor Center offers visitors a chance to step back in time and
journey to the Yukon gold fields of Canada as thousands did in 1897
and 1898. Interactive exhibits highlight Seattle's role in this
international event. Touch screen computers allow visitors to
experience the gold rush through the eyes of actual stampeders by
referring to their journals and personal accounts.
The Park is free and presently open daily from
9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Starting in 2009, the visitor center will be
closed Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day and operating on
winter hours from January 2, 2009 through March 8, 2009.
Page 1 of 1