Women's Rights National
136 Fall Street
Seneca Falls. NY 13148
Office telephone (315) 568-2991
WELCOME to Women's Rights
National Historical Park
Discover How Five Women Changed the World
In 1848 Elizabeth Cady Stanton and four other
women invited the public to the First Women's Rights Convention to
discuss expanding the role of women in America. At the end of the
two days, 100 people made a public commitment to work together to
improve women�s quality of life. While women have achieved greater
equality with the vote, property rights, and education, the
revolution continues today.
Visitor Center and Exhibits
136 Fall Street, Seneca Falls
- Begin your visit to Women's Rights National
Historical Park in the visitor center.
- View an introductory film "Dreams of
Equality" in the Guntzel Theater.
- Explore our permanent exhibit gallery on
the second floor.
- Meet the organizers of the convention face
to face at the First Wave statue exhibit.
- Rangers and park staff may assist you with
planning your visit, brochures, tour times, schedules,
directions, and maps.
- Restrooms are located off the first floor
lobby. The visitor center is accessible to wheelchair users.
- Adjacent to the visitor center is
Declaration Park with outdoor seating, the Waterwall, and the
136 Fall Street, Seneca Falls
The Wesleyan Chapel was built in 1843. On July
19 and 20, 1848, the First Women's Rights Convention was held here.
Even though Elizabeth Cady Stanton was the only one of the five
organizers to live in Seneca Falls, the Wesleyan Chapel was well
known to them all. The church was a local haven for antislavery
activity, political rallies, and free speech events.
The original red brick Wesleyan Methodist
Church was sold by the congregation in 1871 and extensively altered
by subsequent owners. When the site was purchased by the National
Park Service in 1985, very little original fabric remained. The site
today offers a unique display of the highlighted historic fabric of
the original building.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton House
32 Washington Street, Seneca Falls
Tours daily through December 7,2008. Will open March 7, 2009.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902) called her
house at 32 Washington Street, Seneca Falls "Grassmere"
and the "Center of the Rebellion". She moved into the home
with her husband and three sons in May 1847. After Stanton and
others successfully petitioned the Legislature of New York to pass a
Married Woman's Property Act in April 1848, her father Daniel Cady
deeded the property to his daughter Elizabeth.
Over the next fourteen years, the family
welcomed two more sons and two daughters. The entire family enjoyed
the large farm house, its several out buildings, orchards, and
gardens until Elizabeth Cady Stanton sold the property in 1862 and
the family of nine moved to New York, New York.
14 William Street, Waterloo
Open Thursday through Sunday, 1:00-4:00 p.m. Programs offered at
2:00 and 3:00 p.m. House will re-open
for the season on May 23, 2009.
Richard Hunt built the two story red-brick
house at 14 East Williams Street in Waterloo, New York in 1836, but
never lived there. The M'Clintock family of seven moved into the
house in 1836 and were its first tenants. Thomas and Mary Ann, their
five children, and others made this their home for 20 years until
they returned to Philadelphia.
The M'Clintock family ran a local business,
led the local Quaker Monthly Meeting, and were involded in almost
every reform activity in Western New York. Together they ran a
Drugstore and school in the commercial buildings along Main Street,
they supported Anti-slavery, Temperance, and raised money to benefit
the Irish famine, Hungarian Revolution, and the local poor.
The M'Clintocks offered their house to
fugitive slaves as a station on the Underground Railroad. How do we
know the house was a station on the Underground Railroad? Learn why
On July 16, 1848, Mary Ann M'Clintock hosted a
planning session for the First Women's Rights Convention. At this
session she, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and perhaps several others
drafted a document they called the Declaration of Sentiments.
It was ratified on the second day of the First
Woman's Rights Convention and signed by 100 men and women. Modeled
on Thomas Jefferson's Declaration of Independence, this document
proclaimed that "all men and women are created equal."
Richard Hunt built this house for his growing
family. He had several acres of farmland surrounding the property.
On July 9, 1848 Jane Hunt hosted a social
gathering in Lucretia Mott's honor where those assembled decided to
call the first ever women's rights convention in the U.S.
Page 1 of 1